January 24, 2010

  • Genealogy

    Ok, so I've been really delving into my genealogy lately, and I know historical record keeping is not 100%.

    However . . .

    I found a line on my (maternal) grandmother's side that goes back to 1500.  Not only that, but I found this dude:

    Thomas Tronsgård
    Birth 1500
    Biyang, Yixian, Anhui, China
    Death in Biyang, Yixian, Anhui, China

    Daughter:
    Guri Thomasdatter Tronsgård
    Birth 1520
    Biyang, Yixian, Anhui, China
    Death 1585
    Nes, Ameland, Friesland, Netherlands

    I've been trying to get into Chinese history to see what this is.  The guy was born in China and died in China. H e had a daughter that he named Guri who was also born in China then died in the Netherlands (and so continues the line down).

    So, I'm really curious about this.  Most of my family (on both sides) are really heavy culturally.  On my mom's side, I found (maybe) 8 ancestors out of 100's that were NOT from Norway.  Most were nearby (i.e. Netherlands, etc).

    On my father's side, my great grandfather was born in Russia and I cannot find any ancestors (going back to the 1600's) there were NOT Russian.  So, not a lot of traveling I think.  Except for this Thomas dude. 

    Just some interesting weirdness.  Maybe I have a smidge of Chinese in me, eh?  Would be kind of interesting!

    Edit: Found German on my father's side and learned that apparently during Catherine the Great's rule, they had some Russians go to Germany and some Germans go to Russia to mix things up.

    Also, my husband's tree is SO different than mine.  His can be traced back to a lot of Americans who were here in the 1600's, etc.  Lots of English/Irish, names like Prettyman, Wolfe and Trainer/Traynor.  He has a few barons and some family crests too.  Hehehehe.

Comments (2)

  • how are you doing your research?

  • @turtle_dove - I'm just using Ancestry.com (free 14 day trial).  The info I do have it's been startling accurate with (in matching facts, etc).  There are a few small discrepencies that I found with stuff like:

    the name I have is "Hannah" and the name I find in one of the documents is "Anna"
    Or . . . "Carrie" and the real name is "Caroline," etc. 

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment